Week 18 – The Chocolate St. Nick

This week has been quite busy with both a midwife and an OB appointment this week, plus lead testing because there may be a very slim chance that the water line at my office is contaminated with lead. Don’t think it will be an issue, but as I’m pregnant, we thought it best to have the blood work done.

The baby is much more active than last week, and it was so great to be able to see him/her for a couple of minutes today! πŸ™‚ Much more active than DD was, at least I don’t remember such vivid activity from the ultrasounds. DD always seemed to be sleeping or at least comfortably chillaxing in my belly, while this one is quite the little gymnast. Not that I mind. πŸ˜‰

No exciting news on the gender question though, just as I was about to excitedly cry out “Oh, it’s a ..:” my OB stopped me and said, “No, might as well be a girl if you look from this angle.” Oh. Well then. πŸ˜€ I guess we’ll have to wait for the next appointment.

DD is already earning high marks on the big sister score card. The other day she had a chocolate cupcake that I really wasn’t against sharing. πŸ˜‰ I asked her if I could share with her, and she nodded, smiled, and handed me this 0.5 mm sized chocolate morsel. Of course, grown-up that I am, I smiled and thanked her, and just as I was about to turn away, she calls me back so the baby can have some. About 3 cm worth of chocolate cupcake! Ha! That’s sisterly love. I made sure it enters my body through my mouth, as she sometimes tends to feed the baby by squishing food into my bellybutton. Yummy. πŸ™‚

Speaking of yummy, food-of-the-week is a chocolate St. Nick (no, not a Santa – we ARE in Germany, and in a very Roman Catholic part at that πŸ˜€ ), who is only short by about 1 mm of the suggested 14 cm the baby has this week!

Before we head on to this week’s pictures, I have to apologize for the quality – we are entering a very busy stage (who isn’t, with Christmas coming up), and had about 4.3 minutes to take these pictures. Let’s hope next week we’ll have more time. πŸ˜‰

DSC_0644

DSC_0636

Categories: 2nd trimester | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.